Changes in Stages

My twin daughters are beginning to take steps, albeit assisted. A child’s first real steps are a milestone, both for the child and the parents as well. Both me and Jen (my wife) know their first steps are soon to come. They’re following close behind their four-year old sister. Moving from crawling, to guided steps and then off to the races. One of the best lessons I’ve ever learned from our oldest is not to get too used to a particular stage, because it soon changes, just as you’re getting used to it. I chose the title of the blog because it reminds me of the Jimmy Buffett song Changes in Latitude, Changes in Attitude (yes I’m a bit of a Parrot Head). These lyrics describe it well for me; “It’s those changes in latitudes, changes in attitudes nothing remains quite the same. With all of our running and all of our cunning, If we couldn’t laugh, we would all go insane.” That about sums up life with baby twins and a toddler.

They’ll be turning one year old soon and they were pretty small coming from the hospital (as most twins are) to now tugging on my pant legs to climb to their feet and move with me as I walk backward. Our oldest is swimming now and its crazy to see how much she loves it and is enjoying getting out and being with friends. They are doing what kids do, they grow and move forward in their stage of development. It’s great to experience and sometimes scary but at the end of the day its the best feeling in the world.

It reminds me of family members who tell me to savor the time because it goes by fast. Boy are they right. That’s my take.

This entry was posted in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

