Reflecting on Daughter’s Birthday

Image

So my oldest daughter turns  four years old today. My wife and I woke up this morning, had a few gifts wrapped for her and got ready for the excitement. We were not disappointed. Her first words upon waking were “is it my birthday?” with a huge grin. This weekend we’re celebrating with friends and family so more presents are to come. But we wanted to do something special today. I’m also taking this time to reflect a bit on the journey I’ve taken since that time. Holy cow! I’ve learned quite a bit, that’s for sure. Here are a couple:

  • “Enjoy every minute, it goes so fast” this is a cliché I know and one that I’ve heard many times from family and friends. But it is so true. The good news is we take so many pictures we don’t know what to do with them. But we need the pictures as four years feels like a blink of an eye. She’s up to my hips and she just started walking it feels to me.
  • “This is forever” was one of the first things my mother said to me in our hospital room. It’s an obvious message but one that really sinks in when you see your newborn baby open her eyes for the first time. From now until I die I’m in charge of the care, safety and nurturing of this being. A serious charge for sure but one that fills my heart.
  • In four years, we’ve seen her grow from a baby to a toddler and now to a four-year old that argues with us at bed time and sings and laughs and has the most off the wall quips. That is probably the most fun part of the past four years.
  • It’s only been four years, I can’t wait for what is to come. My friends and family have older children and it’s a treat seeing them interact. I’ll be learning much more and seeing the process play out again because our twins turn one next week!

I’m going to be tired and it’ll be loud but it’s going to be so much fun! That’s my take.

This entry was posted in Daughter, Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reflecting on Daughter’s Birthday

  1. Oak says:

    Always enjoy reading your reflections brother, stay focused on the nurturing part and the rest will all fall into place. Congrats to you and Jen, 4 years of parenting is no small accomplishment. And Happy Birthday to B!

Leave a Reply

