Mr. Mom

ImageA few months ago I started this blog to discuss issues of pertinent in my life, politics, sports and especially fatherhood. I recently found myself parted from my job and now the role of fatherhood has a new meaning for me. I’ve always been a hands on father but now I’m the main caregiver, though with the help of grandparents. It’s been a little over a month and I’m still learning how to do it but the cliche is true, this is a great time for bonding with the wee ones. The kids are four and 13 month old (twins), respectively.  I realize I’m not the first father to stay home and take care of the children but this is quite a new experience. Being a child of the 80″s I can recall the movie “Mr. Mom” so I feel I have an example to learn from. I’m still looking for other employment opportunities but don’t know how long I’ll be in this role. For now I will focus on enjoying my time with the kids and  take a more active role in their development. I can already tell that the kids are loving seeing me so much, which is awesome. While I plan on finding something relatively soon I find myself having a lot of fun seeing the kids reach new milestones. I’m also dedicating myself to enjoying this summer time, going to more gatherings and Red Sox games. Until something comes up I look forward to learning even more in this role. That’s my take.

This entry was posted in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mr. Mom

  1. Jenn Whinnem says:

    I need to be able to give this a like or a +1 or something. Glad you’re enjoying the time with your family, Ben.

  2. twistedxtian says:

    Sorry for the job loss.

    I’m glad you’re enjoying the time home with your kids. I was able to stay home for the first year with both of mine and it was absolutely wonderful. Sure, it had its trying moments (it wouldn’t be parenting without them) but I loved the bonding time, I loved getting to spend so much time with my kids, and I always had that Michael Keaton in the back of my mind as what a “Mr. Mom” looks like. 🙂

    Enjoy the time at home and I hope you find a new job when needed.

  3. Kathy Myers says:

    I’m with Jenn – and with you, Ben! The impact of any and all bumps in the road work wise can be softened when your family life is good. My sons are high school and college age and they “play” with me differently than yours do but that shared time together is awesome. Sending positvie vibes your way, Kathy

Leave a Reply

