Thanksgiving 2012

The First Thanksgiving, painting by Jean Louis...

The First Thanksgiving, painting by Jean Louis Gerome Ferris (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So another Thanksgiving is upon us. We’re a long way since the 1st Thanksgiving in 1621. Back then it was the celebration of the pilgrims’ first successful harvest (thanks to the teachings of their Abenaki and Wampanoag friends). It wasn’t actually the Thanksgiving we know today until Pres. Abraham Lincoln declared it a national holiday in the 1800’s.  It’s an important holiday for many and it’s one of  my favorites.

It’s the one day dedicated to being thankful for what we have. It is also dedicated to what I call the three f’s; family, football and food (I include friends in with family). There is nothing better than celebrating those things in my book. Good luck to my wife’s cousin, playing nose-guard for Glastonbury CT and to my hometown Amherst Regional High School Hurricanes in the Battle of the Bridge vs. Northampton.

So this year has been an eventful one for me and I have much that I’m thankful for. Here are just a couple, though there are many more:

  • Thanks my family (immediate, extended and in-laws) for being such great support in times of unemployment
  • Thanks to God for the health of my kids
  • Thanks to the soldiers around the world keeping us safe
  • Thanks to my wife (for many things) and especially for having faith in me and now bearing our fourth child like a champ

Stay safe out there and have a great Thanksgiving. Please, lets all be thankful for what we’ve got and appreciate that there are many people with less than what we have. And Go Canes! That’s my take.

Also, to end this blog I’m sharing a funny clip from one of my favorite shows, The West Wing, where President Bartlent is asked to pardon a turkey.

This entry was posted in Holiday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

