“The Thrill of Hope, The Weary World Rejoices”

It’s Christmas time. The commercialization is all around us but tonight and tomorrow we celebrate the birth of Christ (except for my atheist or Jewish friends and family).

Nativity_Scene_by_dashinvaineIt’s  been a long and hard year for many people around the world and certainly here. I’ve had a tumultuous time after separating from employment. Which pales in comparison to those dealing with the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy and the shootings in Newtown, CT to name a few.

But I and many others have been blessed  this year. I’ve learned that my wife is pregnant with our first son and I begin temporary but full-time employment after the new year. Out of tragedies we’ve seen acts of caring and heroism that no work of fiction could ever compare to.

I’m not the most religious man in the world but I’m thankful for the blessings and the thrill of hope we feel every year at the birth of Jesus. “Hope is a good thing, maybe the best of things”-Andy Dufresne. That’s my take.

This entry was posted in Religion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

