A Pirate Looks at 40

jbSo I turned 41 years old at midnight. Wow! I’ve never cared much about aging and turning 40 was the same as 39 to me. I’m watching Jimmy Buffett sing “A Pirate Looks at 40” for the Boston Strong concert and it hits me, “wow, I’m in my 40’s”. It’s no big deal but it’s a good time to look back and recall what I thought I’d be when I was an adult. To borrow a Buffett lyric, “Reading departure signs in some big airport reminds me of the places I’ve been. Visions of good times that brought so much pleasure makes me want to go back again”, from Changes in Latitudes.

During my college years I went to my share of spring breaks in the Caribbean and I know Puerto Rico well. So the dream of visiting the islands and staying for a lifetime of bartending by night and hitting the beach and fishing by day on my houseboat crept in a few times. But logic and reality would set in and I got on with life. As the song says “The cannons don’t thunder, there’s nothin’ to plunder, I’m an over-forty victim of fate”. 

So, I turn 41 and I have a great wife and (holy shit!) four kids to revel in, (three girls and a boy). Life’s been good. I am still the baby of my family in many ways and I’m surrounded by a lot of young at-heart people that are actually older than I.  I have some fantastic memories of the first 41 years (early years, high school, college, post-college…) and with such a young brood there’s a trillion memories yet to be made. More Patriots championships, kids sports, graduations, chasing boyfriends away, etc. I can’t wait for them to come! Or as Jimmy puts it “Oh, yesterdays over my shoulder, so I can’t look back for too long. There’s just too much to see waiting in front of me, and I know that I just can’t go wrong”

That’s my take.

 

This entry was posted in Aging, Life's Lessons and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

